New Zealand Public Holidays 2023

Dates for New Zealand national public holidays and regional anniversary days.

You can check your holiday weather here

Click to view the monthly calendar.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day Sunday, January 1, 2023 (Observed - Tuesday, January 3, 2023)
Day after New Year's Day Monday, January 2, 2023
Waitangi Day Monday, February 6, 2023
Compensatory holiday on Monday
Good Friday Friday, April 7, 2023
Easter Monday Monday, April 10, 2023
ANZAC Day Tuesday, April 25, 2023
Compensatory holiday on Monday
Queen's Birthday Monday, June 5, 2023
1st Monday in June
Matariki Friday, July 14, 2023
Labour Day Monday, October 23, 2023
4th Monday in October
Christmas Day Monday, December 25, 2023
Boxing Day Tuesday, December 26, 2023

Regional Anniversary Days

These are only celebrated within each region, not nationwide

Holiday Date
Auckland, Northland and Waitkato Monday, January 30, 2023
Taranaki Monday, March 13, 2023
Hawke's Bay Friday, October 20, 2023
Wellington Monday, January 23, 2023
Marlborough Monday, October 30, 2023
Nelson Monday, January 30, 2023
Canterbury Friday, November 17, 2023
Canterbury (South) Monday, September 25, 2023
Westland Monday, December 4, 2023
Otago Monday, March 20, 2023
Southland Tuesday, April 11, 2023
Chatham Islands Monday, November 27, 2023
New

Gained too much weight in your last holiday? Check our BMI calculator

This page is available in other languages:

English English English 简体中文 繁體中文 Deutsch Français 日本語 Tiếng Việt