New Zealand Public Holidays 2021

Dates for New Zealand national public holidays and regional anniversary days.

You can check your holiday weather here

Click to view the monthly calendar.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day Friday, 1 January 2021
Day after New Year's Day Saturday, 2 January 2021 (Observed - Monday, 4 January 2021)
Waitangi Day Saturday, 6 February 2021 (Observed - Monday, 8 February 2021)
Compensatory holiday on Monday
Good Friday Friday, 2 April 2021
Easter Monday Monday, 5 April 2021
ANZAC Day Sunday, 25 April 2021 (Observed - Monday, 26 April 2021)
Compensatory holiday on Monday
Queen's Birthday Monday, 7 June 2021
1st Monday in June
Labour Day Monday, 25 October 2021
4th Monday in October
Christmas Day Saturday, 25 December 2021 (Observed - Monday, 27 December 2021)
Boxing Day Sunday, 26 December 2021 (Observed - Tuesday, 28 December 2021)

Regional Anniversary Days

These are only celebrated within each region, not nationwide

Holiday Date
Auckland and Northland Monday, 1 February 2021
Taranaki Monday, 8 March 2021
Hawke's Bay Friday, 22 October 2021
Wellington Monday, 25 January 2021
Marlborough Monday, 1 November 2021
Nelson Monday, 1 February 2021
Canterbury Friday, 12 November 2021
Canterbury (South) Monday, 27 September 2021
Westland Monday, 29 November 2021
Otago Monday, 22 March 2021
Southland Tuesday, 6 April 2021
Chatham Islands Monday, 29 November 2021
New

Gained too much weight in your last holiday? Check our BMI calculator

This page is available in other languages:

English English English 简体中文 繁體中文 Deutsch Français 日本語 Tiếng Việt